Cerrito del Carmen

Wednesday, April 27, 2016 | by

IMG_0069
Cerrito del Carmen is a small hill on the outskirts of the Historical Center of Guatemala City.
The site holds a bad reputation as it used to be frequented by gangs, streets criminals, pickpockets, drug users and prostitutes. Read the rest of this entry »

Food: bocado de reina

Tuesday, April 26, 2016 | by

bocado de reina
Bocado de reina is one of my favorite Guatemalan pastires. Read the rest of this entry »

Sololá off the beaten path: Kaqchiquel Wedding

Monday, April 25, 2016 | by

Kaqchiquel Wedding

I love weddings in the country side. Read the rest of this entry »

Sololá off the beaten path: Sacred Sites

Sunday, April 24, 2016 | by

Maysn sacred sites
During colonial times, mayan rituals were forbidden and were often punishable by painful deaths, Read the rest of this entry »

Sololá off the beaten path

Saturday, April 23, 2016 | by

San Jorge La Laguna
When national or foreign tourists come to visit the Lake Atitlán Region, the most frequented places are the little towns around the lake Read the rest of this entry »

Orquesta Sinfónica Juvenil Municipal

Friday, April 22, 2016 | by

Orquesta Sinfónica Juvenil Municipal
The Orquesta Sinfónica Juvenil Municipal is born in 2006 Read the rest of this entry »

El Portal

Thursday, April 21, 2016 | by

El Portal
El Portal is one of most iconic bars Downtown Guatemala City. Read the rest of this entry »

Free Public Gymnasiums

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 | by

Public gymnasium
Villa Nueva, the municipality where I live is constructing these public gymnasiums on local parks. Read the rest of this entry »

Guatemalan Chómin

Tuesday, April 19, 2016 | by

Chomin
Guatemalan chow mein, which we pronounce chomin, is a Chinese dish we have made ours. Read the rest of this entry »

El Pinche — Another Mexican Food Joint in Guatemala City

Monday, April 18, 2016 | by

20160418_123257
Despite our geographic proximity, Guatemala does not feature many authentic Mexican food restaurants. Read the rest of this entry »

Squatters Settlements

Wednesday, April 13, 2016 | by

Squatter Settlement
Squatter settlements are always subject of controversy in Guatemala. Read the rest of this entry »

Arcade Games

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 | by

IMG_1279
These arcade games machines are very old Read the rest of this entry »